Consensus review
Final Fantasy Resonance consensus: combat and HD-2D carry it; the story holds the majors at 8
Reviews went live October 20, two days before the October 22 launch. IGN, RPG Site, Nintendo Life and Push Square land on 8/10, GameSpot on 7, VGC and Eurogamer on 3/5, and enthusiast sites lift the aggregates to 85. Combat, HD-2D and music win; the story and the mobile roots do not. Consensus review — we did not play it.

Key points
- Square Enix releases Final Fantasy Resonance on October 22, 2026, on Nintendo Switch 2, Nintendo Switch, PS5, Xbox Series X|S and PC. Western reviews went live on October 20, 2026.
- Named majors cluster at 8 for Final Fantasy Resonance: IGN 8/10, RPG Site 8/10, Nintendo Life 8/10 (Switch 2) and Push Square 8/10, with RPGFan at 85/100 and GameSpot at 7/10.
- VGC and Eurogamer both give Final Fantasy Resonance 3/5, and both point at the story and its roots in the mobile game Final Fantasy Brave Exvius.
- Famitsu's Cross Review gave Final Fantasy Resonance 36/40 (9/9/9/9), as reported by Nintendo Life. Latin American scores: PSX Brasil 90/100, Indigo GEEK 9, Atomix 85/100 and LevelUp 8/10.
- As of October 21, 09:17–09:18 ART, Final Fantasy Resonance had 85 on Metacritic (PS5, 46 critics) and an OpenCritic Top Critic Average of 85 (91% recommend, 49 top critics). Both are context only.
Reviews of Final Fantasy Resonance went live on October 20, 2026, two days before Square Enix’s October 22 launch on Nintendo Switch 2, Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S and PC. It is the first HD-2D Final Fantasy, developed by Square Enix with Lancarse, and it rebuilds the first story arc of the shuttered mobile game Final Fantasy Brave Exvius as a traditional turn-based RPG, per Square Enix.
The named sample tells a tighter story than the aggregates. The big US and UK outlets cluster at 8/10, with GameSpot a notch lower at 7/10, two UK outlets stop at 3/5, and enthusiast sites lift the aggregates: 85 on Metacritic (PS5, 46 critics) and an OpenCritic Top Critic Average of 85. The praise rhymes everywhere: combat, the HD-2D look and the music. So does the criticism: the story, and what the mobile origins leave behind.
How we scored this
This is a Consensus review. Play Observatory did not play Final Fantasy Resonance. We read named published reviews from the United States, the UK, Latin America and Japan, and confirmed each printed score on the outlet’s own page on October 20 or 21, 2026. The one exception is Famitsu, whose Cross Review we attribute to Nintendo Life. As of October 21, 09:17–09:18 ART, the aggregates stood at 85 on Metacritic (PS5, 46 critics) and an OpenCritic Top Critic Average of 85 (91% recommend, 49 top critics). They are context only. Then we applied our criteria: consensus shape, outliers, platform notes, day-0 caveats and audience fit.
The 8.0 is that judgment. It follows the majors’ cluster rather than the 85, and it keeps the two 3/5s in view.
Where critics cluster
| Region | Outlet | Score | Version reviewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| US | IGN | 8/10 | not stated |
| US | RPG Site | 8/10 | Switch 2 |
| US | RPGFan | 85/100 | PS5 |
| US | GameSpot | 7/10 | not stated |
| US | Siliconera | unscored; positive | PC |
| EU (UK) | Nintendo Life | 8/10 | Switch 2 |
| EU (UK) | Push Square | 8/10 | PS5 Pro |
| EU (UK) | VGC | 3/5 | PS5 |
| EU (UK) | Eurogamer | 3/5 | Switch 2 |
| LatAm (Brazil) | PSX Brasil | 90/100 | PS5 |
| LatAm (Mexico) | Indigo GEEK (Reporte Índigo) | 9 | PS5 |
| LatAm (Mexico) | Atomix | 85/100 | Switch 2 |
| LatAm (Mexico) | LevelUp | 8/10 | PC |
| Japan | Famitsu Cross Review | 36/40 (9/9/9/9), as reported by Nintendo Life | not stated |
Four majors land on the same number. IGN gives 8/10 (Michael Higham) and says the game “sets a new benchmark for HD-2D visuals.” RPG Site gives 8/10 (Hayes Madsen, Switch 2) and calls the combat “easily one of the best turn-based battle systems we’ve seen in the last decade.” Nintendo Life gives 8/10 (Mitch Vogel, Switch 2) and Push Square 8/10 (Robert Ramsey, PS5). RPGFan posts 85 (Zach Wilkerson, PS5), and admits the game is unoriginal, “originality be damned.”
GameSpot (Heidi Kemps) gives 7/10, a “Good” in its verdict box, and concludes that the game “shines more than it stumbles.” Siliconera (Daniel Bueno, PC) publishes no number and calls it “the most interesting game in the series in a long time.”
The shared spine is combat. Enemies carry a stagger bar that breaks fastest on elemental weaknesses, and Visions, spirits of past Final Fantasy heroes, work as a swappable job system. Push Square lists “Fantastic turn-based combat” first among its positives. The HD-2D presentation, with a camera that moves more freely in cutscenes than in Square Enix’s earlier HD-2D games, is the second pillar, and the music is the third: IGN’s summary calls it “incredible music,” GameSpot lists “An excellent soundtrack,” and RPGFan says “the music is rousing.”

A turn-based battle, with the turn-order timeline across the top. Official Steam screenshot: Square Enix.
Splits that stay visible
The two 3/5 scores come from the UK, and they say the same thing in different words. VGC (Dave Aubrey, PS5) headlines the game as “limited by its mobile origins,” and concludes that next to the Pixel Remasters and Square Enix’s HD-2D remakes, “Resonance just isn’t an essential experience.” Eurogamer (Dom Peppiatt, Switch 2) says it “doesn’t quite stick the landing”: it calls Resonance “the best-looking HD-2D game I’ve ever played,” and calls the story “by far, the weakest facet.”
The story is not only a UK complaint. IGN found “long stretches of its storytelling to be quite underwhelming.” Push Square says the story and characters “struggle to break away from being all too predictable at times.” Nintendo Life’s one listed negative is “Story is kind of so-so,” and it says the plot is where the mobile roots are “most painfully felt.” RPG Site says the result “feels more vapid than it should.” Siliconera, warmer overall, still finds the story “lacking some bite.”
Combat, the shared strength, has its own dissent. GameSpot describes fights that “become slow-paced slogs” and notes you “can’t swap Visions or party members mid-fight.” RPGFan lists “Combat can be a bit of a slog” among its cons. IGN found that the right element can trivialise a fight in the first half.

Rain, the lead, in a field dialogue scene. Official Steam screenshot: Square Enix.
Day-0 caveats
- Platform coverage is uneven. This sample covers Switch 2 (Nintendo Life, RPG Site, Eurogamer, Atomix), PS5 (Push Square, VGC, RPGFan, PSX Brasil, Indigo GEEK) and PC (Siliconera, LevelUp). We found no Nintendo Switch or Xbox Series X|S review among the named outlets, so those versions are unreviewed here. Nintendo Life reports a smooth 60fps on Switch 2, where Metacritic’s Switch 2 listing sits at 83 from 32 critics.
- Playtime estimates disagree. Famitsu’s reviewers put the main story at 20 to 30 hours and full completion near 70, per Nintendo Life. Square Enix’s official Final Fantasy account says “approximately 30–40 hours” for the main story. IGN and RPG Site each report about 45 hours.
- It is one arc. Resonance covers the first story arc of Brave Exvius, per Square Enix. PSX Brasil notes that this leaves much of the mobile game’s story for possible sequels.
- The aggregates are still moving. As of October 21, 09:17–09:18 ART, Metacritic’s PS5 listing had grown from 29 critics on October 20 to 46, still at 85, and OpenCritic’s Top Critic Average held at 85. Treat both as a snapshot.
LatAm and the regional spine
Latin America is citeable: four scores, all 8/10 or higher. PSX Brasil (Thiago de Alencar Moura, PS5) scores 90/100 and calls it “one of Square Enix’s best games of the last decade” (our translation from Portuguese). Reporte Índigo’s Indigo GEEK in Mexico gave it a 9 (Axel Amézquita, PS5), the sample’s Spanish-language score. It calls the game “the triumphant return of what makes the franchise special” and, against the grain, lists the narrative among its strengths (our translations from Spanish). Atomix (Sebastian Quiroz, Switch 2) scores 85/100 and says the developers deliver “the most impressive HD-2D yet” (our translation). LevelUp (Pedro Pérez Cesari, PC) gives 8/10 (“Muy Bueno”) and joins the story knock: its cons say the main story “does not reach the brilliance of the franchise’s most legendary titles” (our translation).
Japan’s leg is Famitsu’s Cross Review: 36/40, four 9s, as reported by Nintendo Life on October 15. Famitsu’s own title page showed no review data when checked, so the score rides Nintendo Life’s report. Famitsu, PSX Brasil and Indigo GEEK all sit above the Western 8 cluster, with the specialist sites that lift the aggregates.
Verdict
Final Fantasy Resonance is for players who want a classic turn-based Final Fantasy built around crystals, an overworld, an airship and a deep job-style system, and who will play for the battles, the HD-2D look and the soundtrack. It is a weaker buy if story is why you play Final Fantasy, or if a remade mobile campaign is a deal-breaker: that is exactly where VGC’s and Eurogamer’s 3/5s come from, and where even the 8/10 reviews hold back.
8.0 — the majors’ consensus as published: combat, presentation and music strong enough to carry a story that most critics found predictable. We did not play it. This piece stays free.
The verdict · Final Fantasy Resonance
Combat, HD-2D and music earn the 8; a thin story and mobile-game roots keep it there — we did not play it.
The good
- Combat is the shared high point: the stagger loop and the Visions job system draw praise from 8/10 and 3/5 reviews alike
- HD-2D presentation and cinematic cutscene camera work are praised across US, UK and Brazilian outlets
- The soundtrack, new themes plus remixed series music, is singled out by IGN, GameSpot, RPGFan and Nintendo Life
The bad
- The story is the common knock: predictable, over-written or thin, depending on the outlet
- VGC and Eurogamer both trace the ceiling to its Final Fantasy Brave Exvius mobile origins, and both stop at 3/5
- Several reviews call some fights slow slogs; Switch 1 and Xbox versions are missing from this sample
How we reviewed this: Consensus aggregation of named published critic scores and takes (US, EU, LatAm, Famitsu Cross Review via Nintendo Life) read 2026-10-20 (Atomix and LevelUp 2026-10-21). Play Observatory did not play it and did not conduct a hands-on playtest. Every printed score was read on the outlet's own review page, except Famitsu's 36/40, which is attributed to Nintendo Life. GameSpot's 7 is read from its review verdict box. Siliconera publishes no score, so it counts for its stance only. Aggregators used as context only, as of October 21, 09:17–09:18 ART: 85 on Metacritic (PS5, 46 critics); OpenCritic Top Critic Average 85, 91% recommend, 49 top critics.
Questions and answers
- Did Play Observatory play Final Fantasy Resonance for this review?
- No. This is a Consensus review. We read named published critic reviews from the US, Europe, Latin America and Japan (Famitsu, via Nintendo Life), then scored our own judgment. Play Observatory did not play it.
- Why do the aggregates say 85 when the big outlets gave Final Fantasy Resonance 8?
- Our named US and UK sample averages below 85: four 8/10s, RPGFan's 85, GameSpot's 7/10 and two 3/5s from VGC and Eurogamer. The top of Metacritic's list, read October 21, 2026, is made of specialist and enthusiast sites at 90 and above. Those lift the average. The 8 cluster is the better guide to the majors.
- What is Famitsu's score for Final Fantasy Resonance?
- Famitsu's Cross Review gave Final Fantasy Resonance 36/40, with four 9s, as reported by Nintendo Life on October 15, 2026. Famitsu's own title pages showed no review data when checked, so we attribute the score to Nintendo Life's report.
- How long is Final Fantasy Resonance?
- Estimates differ. Famitsu's reviewers put the main story at 20 to 30 hours and full completion near 70, per Nintendo Life. Square Enix's official Final Fantasy account says the main story takes approximately 30 to 40 hours. IGN and RPG Site each report about 45 hours.
Sources
- IGN — Final Fantasy Resonance review (8/10, Michael Higham)
- RPG Site — Final Fantasy Resonance review (8/10, Hayes Madsen, Switch 2)
- RPGFan — Final Fantasy Resonance review (85/100, Zach Wilkerson, PS5)
- GameSpot — Final Fantasy Resonance review (7/10 "Good", Heidi Kemps)
- Siliconera — Final Fantasy Resonance review (Daniel Bueno, PC; unscored)
- Nintendo Life — Final Fantasy Resonance review (8/10, Mitch Vogel, Switch 2)
- Push Square — Final Fantasy Resonance PS5 review (8/10, Robert Ramsey)
- VGC — Final Fantasy Resonance review (3/5, Dave Aubrey, PS5)
- Eurogamer — Final Fantasy Resonance review (3/5, Dom Peppiatt, Switch 2)
- PSX Brasil — Final Fantasy Resonance review (90/100, Thiago de Alencar Moura, PS5)
- Indigo GEEK (Reporte Índigo) — Final Fantasy Resonance reseña (9, Axel Amézquita, PS5)
- Atomix — Review Final Fantasy Resonance (85/100, Sebastian Quiroz, Switch 2)
- LevelUp — Final Fantasy Resonance review (8/10 "Muy Bueno", Pedro Pérez Cesari, PC)
- Nintendo Life — Famitsu Cross Review, 36/40 (Liam Doolan, October 15, 2026)
- Famitsu — Final Fantasy Resonance title page (Switch 2; no review data on page)
- Metacritic — Final Fantasy Resonance critic reviews (context; 85, PS5, 46 critics; Switch 2 83, 32 critics; read October 21, 09:17 ART)
- OpenCritic — Final Fantasy Resonance (context; Top Critic Average 85, 91% recommend, 49 top critics; read October 21, 09:18 ART)
- Square Enix Asia — Final Fantasy Resonance launching October 22, 2026 (platforms)
- Final Fantasy (@FinalFantasy) — Community Q&A on main-story length (October 14, 2026)
- Steam — Final Fantasy Resonance store page (official screenshots)


